The Second Cup

Other editions available in your country:

First Published on

(4.2)

46 reviews*

0
Price**: $2.99
Book cover image for The Second Cup

Key

None

Some

Lots

Explicit

Bad Language
Sexual Content
Violence
Drug Use
Fiction
Novel
Adult

Synopsis

Would your life unravel if someone you knew committed suicide? Theirs did.

Faye's heart still belongs to her first love, Jack. She knows he might have moved on, but when she decides to track him down, nothing prepares her for the news that he's taken his own life. Faye is left wondering how to move forward, and whether or not Ethan will let her down again.

And when she tells her friends, the news ripples through their lives too.

Abbie finds herself questioning her marriage - and wondering if she was right to leave her first love behind. Poor Olivia is juggling her job and her boyfriend with supporting her friends and trying to deal with a death of her own. And Jack's death has hit Beth the hardest - even though she never met him. Is she about to take her own life too?

While the four friends take it in turns to explain what happens after Jack's suicide, third-person flashbacks are skillfully interwoven to add a real richness and depth to this heart-wrenching story.

*Perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell, Elizabeth Strout, Patrick McGrath and Nathan Filer.*

--------------------------

Praise for The Second Cup

"Emotionally challenging and highly original, The Second Cup proves a powerful debut for Graye and a hard book to put down." - Book Viral

"Graye takes an intense situation and instead of shying away from it, she strips away the bandage so we can see the raw, oozing wound." - Princess of the Light

"Tragically woven into the plot is the intense depiction of life’s struggles: love lost, divorce, adoption, suicide, bullying, mental illness and disease. Graye takes you into the minds and souls of her characters." - Cheryl, Readers' Favorite

"I couldn’t put it down - the story is that enthralling." - Circle of Books

“For what seems like a relatively simple story, there were a lot of insights into mental health, self-confidence and the insecurities people have in everyday life." - Online Book Club

"It's really well written making it an emotional page turner. Be warned though it's not an easy read due to the main topics being depression and suicide." - Heidi, Goodreads

* The number of reviews given represents the total number of all Amazon customer reviews summed across all english-speaking markets. For more information click here.

**While we try to ensure all prices are correct and up to date, this is ultimately the responsibility of the publisher. 'Readers in the Know' assumes no liability should the price you find on Amazon differ from that displayed here.

Accept Cookies?
Provided by OpenGlobal E-commerce